Diamonds Education

What To Consider Before Purchasing Certified Diamonds

If you’re a woman who wants to treat yourself to a trendy right hand ring, or a man looking to find that perfect engagement ring, arm yourself with a little knowledge about certified diamonds before you begin to shop. Knowing what to look for will save you valuable time and money and you’ll be able to focus on finding the perfect pre-set jewelry or loose diamonds.

Enhanced Vs. Natural Diamonds

Enhancing or treating a diamond occurs when the stone is considered flawed in some way. Some jewelers have discovered a way to enhance the look of a diamond by applying special treatments to remove the flaws. Diamonds can be treated by drilling with lasers to remove flaws, applying sealant to fill cracks or putting the diamond through a color treatment to improve the color grading. These artificial measures are controversial in the diamond industry because many feel it cheapens the beauty of natural stones.

Brilliance.com only sells natural diamonds. These diamonds are cut to maximize the stone’s sparkle, but have not been enhanced in any other way. Natural diamonds are more valuable than ones that have been enhanced or treated.

If you do decide to purchase an enhanced stone, the jeweler must disclose any enhancements that have been done. This is in accordance with Federal Trade Commission regulations, so beware if your jeweler doesn’t tell you a stone has been enhanced.

Certified Diamonds – What To Look For

Certified diamonds are ones that have been graded by a professional diamond certification laboratory. These can be sold as loose diamonds, but it’s also possible to find certified diamonds pre-set into ready to buy jewelry.

People who certify diamonds evaluate and record the stone’s cut, clarity, color and carat weight. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) is the most well known diamond certification laboratory in the United States, but it’s not the only laboratory that can certify diamonds. Other certification labs are the American Gem Society (AGS), Hoge Raad vood Diamant (HRD), the European Gemological Laboratory (EGL) and the International Gemological Institute (IGI).

Many people mistakenly assume that all loose diamonds are certified diamonds, so make sure to ask to see the certification before making a major purchase. Certified diamonds may cost a little more, but you’ll be able to rest easy knowing that you’re getting your money’s worth. Certified diamonds from Brilliance.com are always sold with the proper certification documents so customers know which laboratory completed the certification.

Cut, Color, Clarity And Carat Weight – The Four C’s

Diamond education has come a long way in the past few years and now nearly everyone has heard of the four C’s. Cut, color, clarity and carat weight are the four different categories diamonds are graded on before they’re sold and all refer to the appearance of each diamond.

Simply put, cut is the shape of the stone. After loose diamonds are mined, each stone is cut in a way to maximize and show off the sparkle and fire diamonds are known for. Brilliance.com sells loose and certified diamonds cut into the most popular shapes, including round, princess, oval, emerald, asscher, marquise, radiant, heart and cushion. Round diamonds are the most popular throughout the world.

Each diamond’s color is graded on a letter scale from D to Z. A diamond that’s been rated as a D is the most valuable and rare because it is colorless. It takes a trained gemologist to detect the slight color variations found in stones rated E through H. Diamonds that are rated I through M may have a faint color tinge, but that doesn’t mean the stones can’t be beautiful and full of sparkle. Because of its dedication to beautiful, quality diamonds, Brilliance.com only sells certified diamonds rated D through M.

The third C stands for clarity. Clarity is graded on a scale from flawless to included. Many times, diamond inclusions are only visible to a trained gemologist and only certified diamonds in the last grade have inclusions visible to the naked eye. This means that it’s possible to find a beautiful stone even if you can’t afford one that’s been graded flawless.

Carat weight is the fourth C. The weight of each stone is measured in carats and is rounded to the nearest one hundredth of a carat. Larger stones are more expensive and valuable, but smaller diamonds can be beautiful, too. Brilliance.com sells diamonds ranging from 1/5 of a carat to up to 14 carats.

Commonly Found Types Of Diamonds

Engagement rings or other pieces of diamond jewelry can be sold pre-set or sold as loose diamonds with a custom setting. Whichever you choose can depend on your budget and preferences. Brilliance.com has a variety of pre-designed pieces, as well as separate settings and loose diamonds to meet everyone’s budget and taste.

Pre-designed jewelry can’t be changed so it’s important to find a piece that you love. However, just because these pieces are pre-designed doesn’t mean they can’t be created using certified diamonds so make sure to ask.

If the available choices of pre-designed rings or jewelry aren’t exactly what you’re looking for, consider buying loose diamonds and the settings separately. You’ll get to choose the setting and then be able to select from multiple loose diamonds. Many people assume this is a more expensive route, but that’s not always the case so be sure to compare prices. While many loose diamonds are certified diamonds, double check with your jeweler to make sure.

Buying certified or loose diamonds should be an enjoyable endeavor now that you’re armed with all the information needed to make an informed choice.